Difference between revisions of "Lamrim Yeshe Nyingpo"

From Rangjung Yeshe Wiki - Dharma Dictionnary
Jump to navigationJump to search
m
 
(10 intermediate revisions by 3 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
==invitation letter==
+
'''Lamrim Yeshe Nyingpo''' ([[lam rim ye shes snying po]]). The Wisdom Essence, a most precious, concise, and profound teaching by [[Guru Rinpoche]] which condenses the entire path. Praised by [[Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo]] as being more valuable than thirty yak loads of scriptures, it comprises together with a commentary by [[Jamgon Kongtrul]], the last volume in both the [[Rinchen Terdzo]] and the [[Chokling Tersar]]. <br><br>
Dear Dharma friends and co-lotsawas <br><br>
+
The Lamrim Yeshe Nyingpo, the title of which translates to ''[[Gradual Path of the Wisdom Essence]]'', is a sacred scripture that records oral teachings of the Second Buddha, Padmasambhava, given while he blessed Tibet with a 55 year visit during the 9th century. This most precious, concise, profound teaching of Padmasambhava is a condensation of the entire path to enlightenment and, in its full version, it contains the pith instructions of the [[Three Inner Tantras]]: [[Mahayoga]], [[Anuyoga]], and [[Ati Yoga]]. [[Padmasambhava]] himself describes Lamrim Yeshe Nyingpo in the following words:<br>
Over the last couple of decades we have seen a tremendous development in the translation of Buddhist literature from the Tibetan language. A dominant portion has come through practitioners with close links to the living lineage. With a very particular plan in mind, I have begun to compile a list these yogi-scholars from recently published works and emails lists - you seem to be among them. It's a small world; I've either met, corresponded with or am a close friend to most of you. We share similar aims and activities and are already a virtual circle of translators, scholars and practitioners, similarly involved in bringing the Dharma into European languages.  <br><br>
+
<br>
Besides printed books for teachings, the Internet has become the main venue for communicating current teachers, who is who, teaching schedules, texts, etc., what has and has yet to be translated. We have access to millions of fragments.  <br><br>
+
This essence of the causal and resultant vehicles,<br>
On a trip across the US, coincidence would have it that I happened to sit next to Kent Sandvik who was playing around with an idea for a Dharmapedia, a more private area of the Wikipedia type of program, just for Dharma people. In a "Wiki" you can post-and-edit while you surf and others can instantly see the new material. We discussed the idea of expanding this to include a Tibetan English online dictionary, as well, which will grow while we use it and add to it and improve it. Later the same month, after meeting separately with Gene Smith and Eric Colombel in New York, the idea hatched and there is now an official www.dharmadictionary.net slowly and gradually making its way onto your screen. I sense there is a lot of goodwill and a wonderful spirit of sharing. Several experts - Eric, Gerry, Kent and Peter - are working selflessly so all of us can benefit from this. Moreover, the Wiki format has a short learning curve and the benefits are many, as you will notice. <br><br>
+
Especially the core of the realization of the three sections of the inner tantras,<br>
Here is the plan: I feel there is a real need to have one common database for lineage histories, short biographies of our teachers and their teachers, descriptions of texts, what has been and has yet to be translated, the locations and descriptions of sacred places, indices, notes and other back matter from you published books that you want to share. We have a tremendous amount we could be sharing with each other, lying around on our hard disks, waiting for the next crash. <br><br>
+
Linking together the ground with the path,<br>
Such a "circle of lotsawas" is also in tune with the times we live in, especially while there is no King of Dharma to issue a final decree for all of us to follow. Consensus will come naturally and as we exchange more and share more together - the Wiki on www.dharmadictionary.net has plenty of room for discussion pages, plus there is an easy way to email each other.  <br><br>
+
Makes you abandon the temporary defilements along with their tendencies,<br>
The "first round" is to post a brief description of yourself. Your name should be on the "Translators", "Editors/content" or "Technical development" page. If not, please add it in - inside double square brackets. There is a sample page for Gyurme Dorje. If your name is already there, simply click on it, and then paste in the text you copied from the sample page (in edit mode). Next, please give short biography of your main teachers, if they are missing. There is a sample page for "Chatral Rinpoche" and "Tulku Urgyen Rinpoche" and Cortland is posting several others as we speak. Remember, you can create links to your own websites. See the syntax on page for "Gyurme Dorje". <br><br>
+
Realize fruition and quickly accomplish the welfare of self and others,<br>
I am sending this email out to about 120 of you, and I expect that you will pass it on to the rest of our good lotsawa-friends who you feel have valuable resources and goodwill for us all in the bodhisattva spirit. <br><br>
+
In this way it is in conformity with each yet exalted above them all.<br>
Warm wishes  <br>
+
This path of the wisdom essence, the epitome of all,<br>
Yours in the Dharma, <br>
+
Is a magical means for realizing fruition.<br>
Erik Pema Kunsang <br>
+
<br>
 
+
Merely seeing it showers down the great splendor of blessings.<br>
<br><br>
+
By hearing it one understands the meaning, and [[experience and realization]] burst forth spontaneously.<br>
''This list is only what I had at hand. Please add to it as you see fit.<br>
+
By practicing it for six months, giving up distractions,<br>
The info below will be removed as soon as the invitation goes out, so to protect people's email.'' Erik<br>
+
The wisdom of the three vajras will naturally manifest.<br>
 +
<br>
 +
Since Samantabhadra, Vajrasattva and Padmakara<br>
 +
Are ultimately indivisible and spontaneously complete as one,<br>
 +
I am the emanation-basis for all the infinite tantras,<br>
 +
The essential meaning and the oral instructions.<br>
 +
<br>
 +
Yet, in appearance I manifest in all kinds of ways as magical displays of deeds in different modes of appearing,<br>
 +
Such as emerging miraculously in [[Dhanakosha]]<br>
 +
Or being born from a womb and so forth,<br>
 +
For the sake of guiding the disciples on the [[Jambu Continent]].<br>
 +
<br>
 +
Lord Amitayus at [[Maratika]]<br>
 +
And [[Maha Shri Heruka]] at [[Yanglesho]]<br>
 +
Bestowed upon me with the natural sound of dharmata<br>
 +
This sole quintessence of all the oral instructions.<br>
 +
<br>
 +
If [[Garab Dorje]], [[Shri Singha]], the [[Eight Vidyadharas]],<br>
 +
And all the supreme siddhas from whom I received the stages of the path<br>
 +
Were to hold a great Dharma discussion with one another,<br>
 +
There would be no other summary-manual than this compiling their realization. <br>
 +
<br>
 +
Throughout the countries of [[Uddiyana]], India, Tibet and elsewhere,<br>
 +
This is the unmistaken condensed meaning<br>
 +
Of all the infinite profound and extensive wheels of the Dharma<br>
 +
Such as guru sadhana, the [[Great Perfection]], [[Avalokiteshvara]] and the [[Eight Sadhana Teachings]]. <br>
 +
<br>
 +
In short, there does not exist an ultimate instruction other than this.<br>
 +
Expressed in few words yet including all that should be expressed.<br>
 +
Easy to comprehend and convenient to practice,<br>
 +
Without depending on anything else, it perfects the paths for those of lower, medium and higher faculties.<br>
 +
<br>
 +
This is the self-resounding tantra of dharmata, the indestructible essence,<br>
 +
From the space of luminosity in the five-colored sphere within the heart of me, Padmasambhava.<br>
 +
It is the path traversed by all the buddhas of the three times.<br>
 
<br>
 
<br>
 
==invitees for Lotsawas==
 
Adam Pearcey <adam.pearcey@gmail.com><br>
 
Alan Wallace <alanwallace@earthlink.net><br>
 
Alan Wallace <maitri@gte.net><br>
 
Albrecht Frasch <albrecht.frasch@gmx.de><br>
 
Alejandro Bennardis <abennardis@yahoo.com><br>
 
Alex Chapin <AChapin@jaguar.middlebury.edu><br>
 
Amy Heller <amy.heller@bluewin.ch><br>
 
Andreas K <Kretnet@aol.com><br>
 
Ani Isabelle <aniisabelle@hotmail.com><br>
 
Ani Jinpa <Anijinpa@cs.com><br>
 
Ani Lodro Palmo <lodropalmo@yahoo.com><br>
 
Ani Tenzin Palmo <eliz_palmo@hotmail.com><br>
 
Ann Helm <ann.helm@colorado.edu><br>
 
Ann Helm <annhelm123@gmail.com>, <br>
 
Anne B <archardi@vip.cybercity.dk><br>
 
Anne Klein <ack@Rice.edu><br>
 
Antonio Terrone <terrone@lycos.com><br>
 
Catherine Dalton <catherinebdalton@yahoo.com><br>
 
Christian Bruyat <cbruyat@wanadoo.fr><br>
 
Christian Charrier <christchar@wanadoo.fr><br>
 
Corneille Jest <Corneille.jest@wanadoo.fr><br>
 
David Christensen <odiyana@ozemail.com.au><br>
 
David Curtis <dcurtis@TIBETANLANGUAGE.org><br>
 
David Fuqua <karmachoephel@yahoo.com><br>
 
David Germano <dfg9w@virginia.edu><br>
 
Douglas Duckworth <dsd8g@virginia.edu><br>
 
Douglas Duckworth <duckworth@virginia.edu><br>
 
Edward Henning <edwardhenning@india.com><br>
 
Elio Guarisco <eguarisco2000@yahoo.com><br>
 
Elizabeth Callahan <emcallahan@attglobal.net><br>
 
Erik/Rangjung <erik@rangjung.com><br>
 
Francesca Fremantle <fmfremantle@clara.co.uk><br>
 
Gene Smith <gsmith@tbrc.org><br>
 
Georges Dreyfus <georges.b.dreyfus@williams.edu><br>
 
Gerardo Abboud <gabboud@arnet.com.ar><br>
 
Gerardo Abboud <gabboud@sinectis.com.ar><br>
 
Glenn Mullin <glennhmullin@yahoo.com><br>
 
Guillaume Avertin <guillaumeavertin@hotmail.com><br>
 
Heidrun Ingeborg Köppl <heidrun@mac.com><br>
 
Helena <hbwf@wanadoo.fr><br>
 
Hubert  D. <decleer@mos.com.np><br>
 
Ives Waldo <rime@plinet.com><br>
 
Jakob Leschly <jakob@mangala.dk><br>
 
Jim Valby <jimvalby@dzogchen.ru> <br>
 
Joanne Larson <joannelarsonok@hotmail.com><br>
 
Joel Ho < jaho@wlink.com.np><br>
 
John Canti <Canti@imaginet.fr><br>
 
John R <vajranatha@hotmail.com ><br>
 
John Rockwell <rockwell@shambhala.org><br>
 
John William Pettit <jwp@hvi.net><br>
 
Jose C <jcabezon@religion.ucsb.edu><br>
 
Jules Levinson <juleslevinson@earthlink.net><br>
 
Jungly John B <jbellezza@hotmail.com><br>
 
Justin <lagepo@hotmail.com><br>
 
Kabir Heimsath <kabir@mos.com.np><br>
 
Katia Buffetrille <katia.buffetrille@free.fr><br>
 
Keith Dowman<kdowman@compuserve.com><br>
 
Ken McLeod <ken@unfetteredmind.org><br>
 
Klause Mathes <KlausDMathes@aol.com>br>
 
Konchog Norbu <konchog@radix.net><br>
 
Kurt Keutzer <keutzer@eecs.berkeley.edu><br>
 
Kurt Keutzer <kkeutzer@yahoo.com><br>
 
Lama Chokyi Nyima <lotsawa@starband.net><br>
 
Lama Denys <l.denys@imaginet.fr><br>
 
Lama Tashi Namgyal <ltashi.shenpenosel@verizon.net><br>
 
Lame Ngawang <ngawang@earthlink.net><br>
 
Lodermeier Markus <marku_colum@hotmail.com><br>
 
Lydie R <thoukje@rimay.net><br>
 
Mariano Morera <marianomorera@cetepso.com.ar><br>
 
Mark Mancall <mmancall@leland.Stanford.EDU><br>
 
Mark Nowakowski <mnowakowski@shambhala.org> <br>
 
Mark Seibold <mseibold@virginia.edu><br>
 
Mathieu Ricard <shechen@gmx.net><br>
 
Matthew Akester <trinsam@gmail.com><br>
 
Matthew Kapstein <kpstein@uchicago.edu><br>
 
Mauricio Salinas <dondupdondup@yahoo.com><br>
 
Melvyn C. Goldstein <mcg2@po.cwru.edu><br>
 
Michael Perrott <michael.perrott@virgin.net><br>
 
Michael Sheehy <mspadma@msn.com><br>
 
Mike Dickman <crowspeaks@gmail.com><br>
 
Murray Altheim <altheim@mehitabel.eng.Sun.COM><br>
 
Nicolas T <nrltournadre@hotmail.com><br>
 
Paloma Lopez <palomataco@hotmail.com><br>
 
Patrick Carré <fanglong@free.fr><br>
 
Paul Jeffrey Hopkins <jhopkins@virginia.edu><br>
 
Peter Moran <peter@fulbrightnepal.org.np><br>
 
Peter Roberts <peter.roberts@harris-manchester.oxford.ac.uk><br>
 
Peter Roberts <peter.roberts@oriental-studies.oxford.ac.uk><br>
 
Peter Roberts <peteralanroberts@mac.com><br>
 
Philippe Cornu <philippecornu@free.fr><br>
 
Pierre Kellerson <pierredemolenes@kagyunet.net><br>
 
Ponlop Rinpoche <dzogchen@compuserve.com><br>
 
Ray Kreisel <raykreisel@yahoo.com><br>
 
Richard Babcock <roo-1@adelphia.net><br>
 
Rick Woodbury <rick@commutercars.com><br>
 
Robert Thurman <tbt7@columbia.edu><br>
 
Ron Garry <ron.garry@sbcglobal.net><br>
 
Ron Schwartz <ronald3@morgan.ucs.mun.ca><br>
 
Sangye Khandro <sangyekhandro@gmail.com><br>
 
Sarah Harding <sarahharding@worldnet.att.net><br>
 
Sean Price <seanprice99@yahoo.com><br>
 
Shakya Dorje <shakyadorje@home.com><br>
 
Sherab Posel <lsdorje@verizon.net> <br>
 
Stefan Eckel <stefaneast@rediffmail.com><br>
 
Stephan Borremans <dorje_d@hotmail.com><br>
 
Susanna Schefczyk <SusanneSchefczyk@t-online.de><br>
 
Thomas Doctor <HT@doctor.wlink.com.np><br>
 
Thomas Roth <th.roth@comlink.org><br>
 
Tingdzin <Ting@shambhala.org><br>
 
Tom Meyer <tom@phoam.com><br>
 
Tulku Dhondup Rinpoche <tulkudhondup@yahoo.com><br>
 
Tulku Thondup <ttlodon@yahoo.com><br>
 
Ulrich T. Kragh <utkragh@hum.ku.dk><br>
 
Vidyadhara Institute <shedra@gampoabbey.org><br>
 
Windsor Viney gzhanstong <viney@enso.ca><br>
 
Wulstan <wfletcher@wanadoo.fr><br>
 
Wulstan Fletcher <Wulstan.Fletcher@wanadoo.fr><br>
 
Yeshe Gyamtso <yg@kagyu.org><br>
 
Zachary Beer <zzzack@gmail.com><br>
 
Zachary Larson <zpariah29@yahoo.com> <br>
 
 
<br>
 
<br>
[[extras lotsawa invitees]]
+
==reference==<br>
 
+
[http://www.rangjung.com/gl/Lamrim_Yeshe_Nyingpo_introduction.htm More details about the text and its lineage]<br>
==invitees for Editors/content==
 
Alex Wilding <alex@chagchen.org> <br>
 
Benny Friis Gunnø <gunnoe@mail.dk><br>
 
Bruce Newman <brucejaynewman@msn.com><br>
 
Christina Monson <christinamonson@yahoo.com><br>
 
Claude Herail <ClaudeHL@aol.com><br>
 
Damchoe Wongmo <aangmo@yahoo.ca><br>
 
David Cowey <ktas@ktas.de><br>
 
David Cowey <ktasla@yahoo.co.uk><br>
 
Erik Meier Carlsen <meier.carlsen@mail.tele.dk><br>
 
Jeanne Allen <skydancr@hal-pc.org><br>
 
John Deweese <johndeweeseok@hotmail.com><br>
 
John Tute <johntute@hotmail.com><br>
 
John Tute <johntute@sympatico.ca><br>
 
John Howard <john.howard113@ntlworld.com><br>
 
JRigzin <jrigzintute@gmail.com> <br>
 
Kerry Moran kerrymoran@earthlink.net<br>
 
Lee Weingrad <surgate@bigfoot.com> <br>
 
Lyle Weinstein <LyleWeinstein@compuserve.com> <br>
 
Matthew Pistono <pistono@gmail.com><br>
 
Mette Harboe <mette.harboe@webspeed.dk><br>
 
Michael Essex <mgessex@yahoo.com><br>
 
Michael Tweed <mt@pensum.ca><br>
 
Shenpen Lhamo <shenpen@mail.com.np><br>
 
Steven Goodman <Stevendgoodman@cs.com><br>
 
Taylor <taylorcaron@yahoo.com><br>
 
Tina Lang <tlang@ccsl.com.np><br>
 
 
<br>
 
<br>
  
==invitees for technical development==
+
[[category:Nyingma Lineages]]
Andres Montano <amontano@virginia.edu><br>
+
[[category:Nyingma Teachings]]
bod_x_gl <gribaudo@inwind.it><br>
+
[[category:Nyingma Literature]]
Carles Blas <carlesblas@yahoo.co.uk><br>
 
Chris G <namtok@gmx.net> <br>
 
Charles Muller <acmuller@human.toyogakuen-u.ac.jp><br>
 
Christopher J Fynn <cfynn@gmx.net><br>
 
Edgar M. Cooke <cooke@sra.co.jp><br>
 
EM Cooke <cooke@tokyo.email.ne.jp><br>
 
Jong Bok Yi <jby2y@cms.mail.virginia.edu><br>
 
Leonardo Gribaudo <gribaudo@inwind.it><br>
 
Leonardo Gribaudo <mail@leonardo-gribaudo.it><br>
 
Michael Kim <mdkim-java@sbcglobal.net><br>
 
Paul Zisman <yourpal41@aol.com><br>
 
Michael Erlewine <merlewine@ameritech.net><br>
 
<br>
 

Latest revision as of 08:18, 24 September 2009

Lamrim Yeshe Nyingpo (lam rim ye shes snying po). The Wisdom Essence, a most precious, concise, and profound teaching by Guru Rinpoche which condenses the entire path. Praised by Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo as being more valuable than thirty yak loads of scriptures, it comprises together with a commentary by Jamgon Kongtrul, the last volume in both the Rinchen Terdzo and the Chokling Tersar.

The Lamrim Yeshe Nyingpo, the title of which translates to Gradual Path of the Wisdom Essence, is a sacred scripture that records oral teachings of the Second Buddha, Padmasambhava, given while he blessed Tibet with a 55 year visit during the 9th century. This most precious, concise, profound teaching of Padmasambhava is a condensation of the entire path to enlightenment and, in its full version, it contains the pith instructions of the Three Inner Tantras: Mahayoga, Anuyoga, and Ati Yoga. Padmasambhava himself describes Lamrim Yeshe Nyingpo in the following words:

This essence of the causal and resultant vehicles,
Especially the core of the realization of the three sections of the inner tantras,
Linking together the ground with the path,
Makes you abandon the temporary defilements along with their tendencies,
Realize fruition and quickly accomplish the welfare of self and others,
In this way it is in conformity with each yet exalted above them all.
This path of the wisdom essence, the epitome of all,
Is a magical means for realizing fruition.

Merely seeing it showers down the great splendor of blessings.
By hearing it one understands the meaning, and experience and realization burst forth spontaneously.
By practicing it for six months, giving up distractions,
The wisdom of the three vajras will naturally manifest.

Since Samantabhadra, Vajrasattva and Padmakara
Are ultimately indivisible and spontaneously complete as one,
I am the emanation-basis for all the infinite tantras,
The essential meaning and the oral instructions.

Yet, in appearance I manifest in all kinds of ways as magical displays of deeds in different modes of appearing,
Such as emerging miraculously in Dhanakosha
Or being born from a womb and so forth,
For the sake of guiding the disciples on the Jambu Continent.

Lord Amitayus at Maratika
And Maha Shri Heruka at Yanglesho
Bestowed upon me with the natural sound of dharmata
This sole quintessence of all the oral instructions.

If Garab Dorje, Shri Singha, the Eight Vidyadharas,
And all the supreme siddhas from whom I received the stages of the path
Were to hold a great Dharma discussion with one another,
There would be no other summary-manual than this compiling their realization.

Throughout the countries of Uddiyana, India, Tibet and elsewhere,
This is the unmistaken condensed meaning
Of all the infinite profound and extensive wheels of the Dharma
Such as guru sadhana, the Great Perfection, Avalokiteshvara and the Eight Sadhana Teachings.

In short, there does not exist an ultimate instruction other than this.
Expressed in few words yet including all that should be expressed.
Easy to comprehend and convenient to practice,
Without depending on anything else, it perfects the paths for those of lower, medium and higher faculties.

This is the self-resounding tantra of dharmata, the indestructible essence,
From the space of luminosity in the five-colored sphere within the heart of me, Padmasambhava.
It is the path traversed by all the buddhas of the three times.


==reference==
More details about the text and its lineage