Difference between revisions of "invitation letter"

From Rangjung Yeshe Wiki - Dharma Dictionnary
Jump to navigationJump to search
Line 1: Line 1:
==invitation letter==
+
'''Chokling Tersar''' ([[mchog gling gter gsar]]) '''The New Treasures of Chokling'''
Dear Dharma friends and co-lotsawas <br><br>
+
----
Over the last couple of decades we have seen a tremendous development in the translation of Buddhist literature from the Tibetan language. A dominant portion has come through practitioners with close links to the living lineage. With a very particular plan in mind, I have begun to compile a list these yogi-scholars from recently published works and emails lists - you seem to be among them. It's a small world; I've either met, corresponded with or am a close friend to most of you. We share similar aims and activities and are already a virtual circle of translators, scholars and practitioners, similarly involved in bringing the Dharma into European languages.  <br><br>
+
The collection of termas revealed by [[Chokgyur Lingpa]] together with connected teachings, arrangement texts and commentaries written primarily by [[Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo]], [[Jamgon Kongtrul]], [[Khakyab Dorje]], [[Tsewang Norbu]], [[Tersey Tulku]] and [[Dilgo Khyentse Rinpoche]]. Chokling Tersar literally means the 'new treasures of Chokgyur Lingpa' and owes it name to the great Tibetan Buddhist master of the 19th century. Chokgyur Lingpa lived from (1829-1870) and was regarded by the most reputable living masters of his time as one of the major tertons (revealer of hidden treasures) in Tibetan history. His teachings are widely practiced by both the Kagyu and Nyingma schools of Tibetan Buddhism.<br><br>
Besides printed books for teachings, the Internet has become the main venue for communicating current teachers, who is who, teaching schedules, texts, etc., what has and has yet to be translated. We have access to millions of fragments.  <br><br>
+
The collection of treasures revealed by Chokgyur Lingpa together with its connected teachings are contained in the Chokling Tersar, a body of literature filling more than forty large volumes. In English translation each of these volumes would be between seven and eight hundred pages and the total would amount to approximately 30,000 pages. The connected teachings included in these forty volumes were written over the last 150 years, chiefly by his contemporaries Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo and Jamgon Kongtrul, as well as by the subsequent upholders of the lineage down until today.<br><br>
On a trip across the US, coincidence would have it that I happened to sit next to Kent Sandvik who was playing around with an idea for a Dharmapedia, a more private area of the Wikipedia type of program, just for Dharma people. In a "Wiki" you can post-and-edit while you surf and others can instantly see the new material. We discussed the idea of expanding this to include a Tibetan English online dictionary, as well, which will grow while we use it and add to it and improve it. Later the same month, after meeting separately with Gene Smith and Eric Colombel in New York, the idea hatched and there is now an official www.dharmadictionary.net slowly and gradually making its way onto your screen. I sense there is a lot of goodwill and a wonderful spirit of sharing. Several experts - Eric, Gerry, Kent and Peter - are working selflessly so all of us can benefit from this. Moreover, the Wiki format has a short learning curve and the benefits are many, as you will notice. <br><br>
+
The main monastic institutions today practicing the termas revealed by [[Chokgyur Lingpa]] are [[Neten Gompa]] in Kham and Bir, [[Tsikey Gompa]] in Kham, and [[Ka-Nying Shedrub Ling]] in Nepal.
Here is the plan: I feel there is a real need to have one common database for lineage histories, short biographies of our teachers and their teachers, descriptions of texts, what has been and has yet to be translated, the locations and descriptions of sacred places, indices, notes and other back matter from you published books that you want to share. We have a tremendous amount we could be sharing with each other, lying around on our hard disks, waiting for the next crash. <br><br>
 
Such a "circle of lotsawas" is also in tune with the times we live in, especially while there is no King of Dharma to issue a final decree for all of us to follow. Consensus will come naturally and as we exchange more and share more together - the Wiki on www.dharmadictionary.net has plenty of room for discussion pages, plus there is an easy way to email each other. <br><br>
 
The "first round" is to post a brief description of yourself. Your name should be on the "Translators", "Editors/content" or "Technical development" page. If not, please add it in - inside double square brackets. There is a sample page for Gyurme Dorje. If your name is already there, simply click on it, and then paste in the text you copied from the sample page (in edit mode). Next, please give short biography of your main teachers, if they are missing. There is a sample page for "Chatral Rinpoche" and "Tulku Urgyen Rinpoche" and Cortland is posting several others as we speak. Remember, you can create links to your own websites. See the syntax on page for "Gyurme Dorje".  <br><br>
 
I am sending this email out to about 120 of you, and I expect that you will pass it on to the rest of our good lotsawa-friends who you feel have valuable resources and goodwill for us all in the bodhisattva spirit. <br><br>
 
Warm wishes  <br>
 
Yours in the Dharma, <br>
 
Erik Pema Kunsang <br>
 
  
<br><br>
+
===Lineage===
''This list is only what I had at hand. Please add to it as you see fit.<br>
 
The info below will be removed as soon as the invitation goes out, so to protect people's email.'' Erik<br>
 
<br>
 
  
==invitees for Lotsawas==
+
===Internal Links===
Adam Pearcey <adam.pearcey@gmail.com><br>
 
Alan Wallace <alanwallace@earthlink.net><br>
 
Alan Wallace <maitri@gte.net><br>
 
Albrecht Frasch <albrecht.frasch@gmx.de><br>
 
Alejandro Bennardis <abennardis@yahoo.com><br>
 
Alex Chapin <AChapin@jaguar.middlebury.edu><br>
 
Amy Heller <amy.heller@bluewin.ch><br>
 
Andreas K <Kretnet@aol.com><br>
 
Ani Isabelle <aniisabelle@hotmail.com><br>
 
Ani Jinpa <Anijinpa@cs.com><br>
 
Ani Lodro Palmo <lodropalmo@yahoo.com><br>
 
Ani Tenzin Palmo <eliz_palmo@hotmail.com><br>
 
Ann Helm <ann.helm@colorado.edu><br>
 
Ann Helm <annhelm123@gmail.com>, <br>
 
Anne B <archardi@vip.cybercity.dk><br>
 
Anne Klein <ack@Rice.edu><br>
 
Antonio Terrone <terrone@lycos.com><br>
 
Catherine Dalton <catherinebdalton@yahoo.com><br>
 
Christian Bruyat <cbruyat@wanadoo.fr><br>
 
Christian Charrier <christchar@wanadoo.fr><br>
 
Corneille Jest <Corneille.jest@wanadoo.fr><br>
 
David Christensen <odiyana@ozemail.com.au><br>
 
David Curtis <dcurtis@TIBETANLANGUAGE.org><br>
 
David Fuqua <karmachoephel@yahoo.com><br>
 
David Germano <dfg9w@virginia.edu><br>
 
Douglas Duckworth <dsd8g@virginia.edu><br>
 
Douglas Duckworth <duckworth@virginia.edu><br>
 
Edward Henning <edwardhenning@india.com><br>
 
Elio Guarisco <eguarisco2000@yahoo.com><br>
 
Elizabeth Callahan <emcallahan@attglobal.net><br>
 
Erik/Rangjung <erik@rangjung.com><br>
 
Francesca Fremantle <fmfremantle@clara.co.uk><br>
 
Gene Smith <gsmith@tbrc.org><br>
 
Georges Dreyfus <georges.b.dreyfus@williams.edu><br>
 
Gerardo Abboud <gabboud@arnet.com.ar><br>
 
Gerardo Abboud <gabboud@sinectis.com.ar><br>
 
Glenn Mullin <glennhmullin@yahoo.com><br>
 
Guillaume Avertin <guillaumeavertin@hotmail.com><br>
 
Heidrun Ingeborg Köppl <heidrun@mac.com><br>
 
Helena <hbwf@wanadoo.fr><br>
 
Hubert  D. <decleer@mos.com.np><br>
 
Ives Waldo <rime@plinet.com><br>
 
Jakob Leschly <jakob@mangala.dk><br>
 
Jim Valby <jimvalby@dzogchen.ru> <br>
 
Joanne Larson <joannelarsonok@hotmail.com><br>
 
Joel Ho < jaho@wlink.com.np><br>
 
John Canti <Canti@imaginet.fr><br>
 
John R <vajranatha@hotmail.com ><br>
 
John Rockwell <rockwell@shambhala.org><br>
 
John William Pettit <jwp@hvi.net><br>
 
Jose C <jcabezon@religion.ucsb.edu><br>
 
Jules Levinson <juleslevinson@earthlink.net><br>
 
Jungly John B <jbellezza@hotmail.com><br>
 
Justin <lagepo@hotmail.com><br>
 
Kabir Heimsath <kabir@mos.com.np><br>
 
Katia Buffetrille <katia.buffetrille@free.fr><br>
 
Keith Dowman<kdowman@compuserve.com><br>
 
Ken McLeod <ken@unfetteredmind.org><br>
 
Klause Mathes <KlausDMathes@aol.com>br>
 
Konchog Norbu <konchog@radix.net><br>
 
Kurt Keutzer <keutzer@eecs.berkeley.edu><br>
 
Kurt Keutzer <kkeutzer@yahoo.com><br>
 
Lama Chokyi Nyima <lotsawa@starband.net><br>
 
Lama Denys <l.denys@imaginet.fr><br>
 
Lama Tashi Namgyal <ltashi.shenpenosel@verizon.net><br>
 
Lame Ngawang <ngawang@earthlink.net><br>
 
Lodermeier Markus <marku_colum@hotmail.com><br>
 
Lydie R <thoukje@rimay.net><br>
 
Mariano Morera <marianomorera@cetepso.com.ar><br>
 
Mark Mancall <mmancall@leland.Stanford.EDU><br>
 
Mark Nowakowski <mnowakowski@shambhala.org> <br>
 
Mark Seibold <mseibold@virginia.edu><br>
 
Mathieu Ricard <shechen@gmx.net><br>
 
Matthew Akester <trinsam@gmail.com><br>
 
Matthew Kapstein <kpstein@uchicago.edu><br>
 
Mauricio Salinas <dondupdondup@yahoo.com><br>
 
Melvyn C. Goldstein <mcg2@po.cwru.edu><br>
 
Michael Perrott <michael.perrott@virgin.net><br>
 
Michael Sheehy <mspadma@msn.com><br>
 
Mike Dickman <crowspeaks@gmail.com><br>
 
Murray Altheim <altheim@mehitabel.eng.Sun.COM><br>
 
Nicolas T <nrltournadre@hotmail.com><br>
 
Paloma Lopez <palomataco@hotmail.com><br>
 
Patrick Carré <fanglong@free.fr><br>
 
Paul Jeffrey Hopkins <jhopkins@virginia.edu><br>
 
Peter Moran <peter@fulbrightnepal.org.np><br>
 
Peter Roberts <peter.roberts@harris-manchester.oxford.ac.uk><br>
 
Peter Roberts <peter.roberts@oriental-studies.oxford.ac.uk><br>
 
Peter Roberts <peteralanroberts@mac.com><br>
 
Philippe Cornu <philippecornu@free.fr><br>
 
Pierre Kellerson <pierredemolenes@kagyunet.net><br>
 
Ponlop Rinpoche <dzogchen@compuserve.com><br>
 
Ray Kreisel <raykreisel@yahoo.com><br>
 
Richard Babcock <roo-1@adelphia.net><br>
 
Rick Woodbury <rick@commutercars.com><br>
 
Robert Thurman <tbt7@columbia.edu><br>
 
Ron Garry <ron.garry@sbcglobal.net><br>
 
Ron Schwartz <ronald3@morgan.ucs.mun.ca><br>
 
Sangye Khandro <sangyekhandro@gmail.com><br>
 
Sarah Harding <sarahharding@worldnet.att.net><br>
 
Sean Price <seanprice99@yahoo.com><br>
 
Shakya Dorje <shakyadorje@home.com><br>
 
Sherab Posel <lsdorje@verizon.net> <br>
 
Stefan Eckel <stefaneast@rediffmail.com><br>
 
Stephan Borremans <dorje_d@hotmail.com><br>
 
Susanna Schefczyk <SusanneSchefczyk@t-online.de><br>
 
Thomas Doctor <HT@doctor.wlink.com.np><br>
 
Thomas Roth <th.roth@comlink.org><br>
 
Tingdzin <Ting@shambhala.org><br>
 
Tom Meyer <tom@phoam.com><br>
 
Tulku Dhondup Rinpoche <tulkudhondup@yahoo.com><br>
 
Tulku Thondup <ttlodon@yahoo.com><br>
 
Ulrich T. Kragh <utkragh@hum.ku.dk><br>
 
Vidyadhara Institute <shedra@gampoabbey.org><br>
 
Windsor Viney gzhanstong <viney@enso.ca><br>
 
Wulstan <wfletcher@wanadoo.fr><br>
 
Wulstan Fletcher <Wulstan.Fletcher@wanadoo.fr><br>
 
Yeshe Gyamtso <yg@kagyu.org><br>
 
Zachary Beer <zzzack@gmail.com><br>
 
Zachary Larson <zpariah29@yahoo.com> <br>
 
<br>
 
[[extras lotsawa invitees]]
 
  
==invitees for Editors/content==
+
===External Links===
Alex Wilding <alex@chagchen.org> <br>
+
 
Benny Friis Gunnø <gunnoe@mail.dk><br>
+
 
Bruce Newman <brucejaynewman@msn.com><br>
+
[[Category:Nyingma Literature]]
Christina Monson <christinamonson@yahoo.com><br>
+
[[Category:Terma]]
Claude Herail <ClaudeHL@aol.com><br>
 
Damchoe Wongmo <aangmo@yahoo.ca><br>
 
David Cowey <ktas@ktas.de><br>
 
David Cowey <ktasla@yahoo.co.uk><br>
 
Erik Meier Carlsen <meier.carlsen@mail.tele.dk><br>
 
Jeanne Allen <skydancr@hal-pc.org><br>
 
John Deweese <johndeweeseok@hotmail.com><br>
 
John Tute <johntute@hotmail.com><br>
 
John Tute <johntute@sympatico.ca><br>
 
JRigzin <jrigzintute@gmail.com> <br>
 
Kerry Moran kerrymoran@earthlink.net<br>
 
Lee Weingrad <surgate@bigfoot.com> <br>
 
Lyle Weinstein <LyleWeinstein@compuserve.com> <br>
 
Matthew Pistono <pistono@gmail.com><br>
 
Mette Harboe <mette.harboe@webspeed.dk><br>
 
Michael Essex <mgessex@yahoo.com><br>
 
Michael Tweed <mt@pensum.ca><br>
 
Shenpen Lhamo <shenpen@mail.com.np><br>
 
Steven Goodman <Stevendgoodman@cs.com><br>
 
Taylor <taylorcaron@yahoo.com><br>
 
Tina Lang <tlang@ccsl.com.np><br>
 
<br>
 
==invitees for technical development==
 
Andres Montano <amontano@virginia.edu><br>
 
bod_x_gl <gribaudo@inwind.it><br>
 
Carles Blas <carlesblas@yahoo.co.uk><br>
 
Chris G <namtok@gmx.net> <br>
 
Charles Muller <acmuller@human.toyogakuen-u.ac.jp><br>
 
Christopher J Fynn <cfynn@gmx.net><br>
 
Edgar M. Cooke <cooke@sra.co.jp><br>
 
EM Cooke <cooke@tokyo.email.ne.jp><br>
 
Jong Bok Yi <jby2y@cms.mail.virginia.edu><br>
 
Leonardo Gribaudo <gribaudo@inwind.it><br>
 
Leonardo Gribaudo <mail@leonardo-gribaudo.it><br>
 
Michael Kim <mdkim-java@sbcglobal.net><br>
 
Paul Zisman <yourpal41@aol.com><br>
 
Michael Erlewine <merlewine@ameritech.net><br>
 
<br>
 

Revision as of 11:09, 13 December 2005

Chokling Tersar (mchog gling gter gsar) The New Treasures of Chokling


The collection of termas revealed by Chokgyur Lingpa together with connected teachings, arrangement texts and commentaries written primarily by Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo, Jamgon Kongtrul, Khakyab Dorje, Tsewang Norbu, Tersey Tulku and Dilgo Khyentse Rinpoche. Chokling Tersar literally means the 'new treasures of Chokgyur Lingpa' and owes it name to the great Tibetan Buddhist master of the 19th century. Chokgyur Lingpa lived from (1829-1870) and was regarded by the most reputable living masters of his time as one of the major tertons (revealer of hidden treasures) in Tibetan history. His teachings are widely practiced by both the Kagyu and Nyingma schools of Tibetan Buddhism.

The collection of treasures revealed by Chokgyur Lingpa together with its connected teachings are contained in the Chokling Tersar, a body of literature filling more than forty large volumes. In English translation each of these volumes would be between seven and eight hundred pages and the total would amount to approximately 30,000 pages. The connected teachings included in these forty volumes were written over the last 150 years, chiefly by his contemporaries Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo and Jamgon Kongtrul, as well as by the subsequent upholders of the lineage down until today.

The main monastic institutions today practicing the termas revealed by Chokgyur Lingpa are Neten Gompa in Kham and Bir, Tsikey Gompa in Kham, and Ka-Nying Shedrub Ling in Nepal.

Lineage

Internal Links

External Links